The Philippine College of Physicians (PCP) is now accepting nominations for the 2020 PCP Exemplar Awards for the following categories: Distinguished Researcher, Distinguished Internist, Distinguished Teacher, Distinguished Community Leader, and Distinguished Healthcare Advocate. Started in 1979, The PCP Exemplar Awards recognizes exemplary PCP members who have demonstrated excellence in the specific fields.  the Previous winners include Dr. Ernesto Domingo, Dr. Ramon Abarquez, Dr. Antonio Dans, Dr. Esperanza Cabral, among others.


            Any PCP fellow, diplomate, chapter, accredited training institution, component subspecialty, or affiliate society may nominate.  The nomination closes on November 30, 2019. The winners will be awarded during the PCP Annual Convention in May 2020. To nominate, please visit here.

Dr. Geraldine Zamora received the 2019 The Outstanding Women in Nation’s Service (TOWNS) Award for Health. Dr. Zamora is an internist, rheumatologist, and professor at the University of the Philippines Philippine General Hospital.

In 2010, Dr. Zamora was awarded by the PCP as the Most Outstanding Resident in Internal Medicine (MORIM) for her outstanding performance on service, research, and leadership in Internal Medicine during residency training. Past winners of this award were Dr.Henry Marquez, Dr. Melvin Marcial, Dr. Jubert Benedicto, Dr. Iris Thiele Isip-Tan, and Dr. Mark Anthony Sandoval. The search for the 2020 PCP MORIM is ongoing (please click here).

Picture of Dr. Zamora

TOWNS Awards is presented to outstanding Filipino women aged 21-50 years old who have contributed positively to strengthening national capability and shaping the nation’s future. Other 2019 TOWNS Awardees are Samira Gutoc (Peace Advocacy), Patricia Ann Prodigalidad (Law), Gay Jane Perez (Science & Technology) among others.

Dr. Zamora also received the Ten Outstanding Young Men (TOYM) in 2016.

The Editorial Staff

Noel P. Pingoy, MD, FPCP

Editor in Chief


Joey A. Tabula, MD, FPCP

Associate Editor

Ma. Lorna Yap-Wong, MD, FPCP

Champion Regent